Skip directly to content


What is the definition of Historically Black Colleges and Universities and Minority Institutions?

Historically Black Colleges and Universities and Minority Institutions (HBCUs/MIs) are educational institutions that existed prior to 1964 with the primary purpose of educating African American, Hispanic and American Indian students.

Are HBCUs and MIs accredited educational institutions?

Yes, the U.S. Department of Education publishes a list of Accredited Post Secondary Education Institutions annually to assist Federal agencies in identifying schools qualified to participate in Federal contracting and grant programs.

How many schools are classified as Historically Black Colleges and Universities and Minority Institutions?

Currently, there are approximately 299 educational institutions that are classified as HBCUs and MIs. Of these, 105 are HBCUs, 157 are MIs consisting of Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs) and Other Minority Institutions (OMIs), and 37 Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs).

Where are these schools located?

HBCUs are located in the Southeastern states, the District of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands. They include 40 public four-year, 11 public two-year, 49 private four-year, and 5 private 2-year institutions.

HSIs are located primarily in the Southwestern section of the Nation and in California. HSIs are educational institutions with a Hispanic enrollment of at least 25 percent of the total student population.

TCUs are located in the Great Plans region of the Nation, mainly in the Midwest and Southwest. TCUs service approximately 30,000 full- and part-time students. They offer two-year associate's degrees in over 200 disciplines with some providing bachelor's and master's degrees.

OMIs are educational institutions across the Nation with a total minority population of 50%. These schools are primarily located in California and some large urban areas with a significant minority student population e.g., Chicago, New York City and Los Angeles.

Where are the HBCU professional schools located?

HBCU professional schools are located across the country in several key areas:

  • Engineering Schools: Howard, Hampton, Tuskegee, Morgan State, North Carolina A&T, Alabama A&M, Tennessee State, FAMU, and Jackson State and Prairie View A&M.
  • Pharmacy Schools: Howard, Hampton, Xavier and Texas Southern.
  • Law Schools: Howard, North Carolina Central and Texas Southern.
  • Medical Schools: Morehouse, Howard and Meharry.
  • Ph.D. (Science) Programs: Howard, Hampton, Tuskegee, North Carolina A&T, Morgan, Clark Atlanta, Alabama A&M, Jackson State and Tennessee State.

Are there laws supporting the HBCU/MI Program?

President Barack Obama issued Executive Orders impacting Historically Black Colleges and Universities, and Hispanic Serving Institutions. President George W. Bush issued an Executive Order impacting Tribal Colleges and Universities. Additionally, President Barack Obama signed legislation impacting HBCUs and Minority Institutions. They are as follows:

Where can I get additional information on each Executive Order?

To obtain further information on individual Executive Orders, please contact:

  • White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities
    Ronald E. Blakely
    Associate Director
    400 Maryland Avenue, SW, Suite 4C132
    Washington, DC 20202
    Telephone: (202) 453-5622
    Fax: (202) 453-5632
  • White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics
    Jose Rico
    Deputy Director
    400 Maryland Ave. S.W., Room 4W108
    Washington, D.C., 20202
    Telephone: 202-401-1411
  • White House Initiative on Tribal Colleges and Universities
    Pamela DeRensis
    Program Director
    U.S. Department of Education
    400 Maryland Ave., SW Room 4W116
    Washington, DC 20002
    Phone: (202) 453-6659
    Fax: (202) 453-5635